The problem with skinny bashing

Many of you may have hard of fat shaming, making someone feel ugly, unaccomplished, stupid, lazy, or bad because of their weight. Fat shaming is perpetuating the idea that it is your fault if you are bigger, and it invalidates your accomplishments. I have always been against fat shaming, and I thought it was interesting when I came across an article about “skinny bashing”. Although its great to see that our culture is slowly becoming more accepting towards more full-figured body types, it is NOT good to see skinnier body types being put down. Since our media portrays slim folks as more attractive, worthy,etc, some people have gone as far as to flip this stereotype, and try to make skinny people feel unattractive or unworthy. This totally defeats the purpose of body acceptance and just makes it okay for people to judge eachothers bodies. I have seen this photo all over social networking sites, and I found this photo on google images:

At first I liked this picture, but now I am putting some more thought into it. This photo glorifies one body type to put down another. It is nice to see curvier women being portrayed as attractive, but the skinnier woman is being put down! We don’t know their health. We don’t know who eats the healthiest by looking at them, and we can’t determine that the woman on the right is unhealthy just because she is thin! Instead of putting down a certain kind of body type to validate another, we should be more accepting of ALL bodies.

What do you think about this? Comment below and let me know!

2 thoughts on “The problem with skinny bashing

  1. Thanks for posting this. As a skinny mom I feel judged by some people who are not, especially in mom circles. I never know how to address this without coming off as a bitch. I just feel like saying, “I accept you for you, so could you do the same?”

Leave a Reply

