Model Natalia Vodianova explains why its “better” to be skinny

Today I saw an Article titled “Model Natalia Vodianova Explains it Is Better to be Skinny Than Fat, Dummies” on the facebook page Adios Barbie. It made me angry for several reasons. Defending models and their unrealistic looking bodies, Natalia says ” “We eat well, we exercise — please, do the same and you will look like this.”

Um, what? There are MANY models that struggle with negative body image, low self-esteem, and eating disorders in order to maintain their image. All it takes is eating right and exercising? If EVERYONE did that, they would be a size 00? To me, thats bullshit. People have all different body shapes, and some people can’t be that small, no matter how healthy they are. Its ridiculous that she would make an assumption like that. I know many people who are way bigger than her, and they are perfectly healthy people! Your body is not an indicator of good or bad health.  She also said: “I respect my body — my body is my temple. If I eat like a pig, I feel like a pig.” That comment was a little more civil, and somewhat okay. I respect that eating well makes you feel good. However, people have the right to do what they wish with their bodies, and no one deserves to be put down for their body or their choices around their personal fitness and health.

I think Natalia is perpetuating fat shaming, negative body image, and unrealistic expectations of beauty. She is sending out the message that the standard is attainable, and everyone has the potential to look like a twig. That would be false.

This is a photo of Natalia from Google Images. Everyone can look like this? I don’t think so. What do you think? Comment below and let me know!

Leave a Reply

