My problem with Aerie

As many of you may know, Aerie is a popular store targetted towards young women to purchase lingerie, accessories, and clothing. Today, I walked inside of Aerie because I was looking for a bathing suit. As I was walking around, I noticed something. Most of the photos around the store of Aerie models were of white, skinny girls. I wasn’t exactly surprised, but it was just a reminder as to how little diversity there seems to be in the advertising, cosmetic, and clothing industry. The message it sounds out to young women is that you must look the way the models do  to look good in the bra, shirt, or whatever the piece of clothing may be. Here are some photos from Aerie:

These photos disgust me. Not only are they ridiculously photoshopped, but all the girls are so skinny. Its not out of the ordinairy to see models that look like this, but it doesn’t make it hurt any less! It promotes negative body image to those who are not as skinny as the models above. What do you think? Comment below and let me know!

Photos from: The Aerie Facebook Page

9 thoughts on “My problem with Aerie

    • Totally! I don’t understand why they do this! If they promoted positive body image and self-acceptance by having models of all sizes, it seems like MORE people would want to buy their products. Atleast I would! When I see a store that has models that look more like me, and they look good in the clothes, I am more likely to go inside and check it out!

      • They want to produce fear and self-loathing in the girls, this will get them obsessed with their bodies and they will purchase the products out of desparation. People who like themselves make crummy consumers.

      • So true! At this point I just laugh at how ridiculous it is! I know that looking like those girls is an unattainable goal, and besides, why not just be me? I feel bad for all of the young women out there who beat themselves up comparing themselves to models who look as if they haven’t eaten in weeks! ):

      • yeah, a very high percentage of women have experienced similar. I struggled with it some too when I was a teen. It’s natural to question our bodies at that time, to wonder what we are…but when our role “models” look like twigs it’s just wrong. It’s interesting to look back at how the female form has been represented in the arts, media, film throughout the ages…we’re in a strange time, for sure. All the fakeness is relatively new. Even in the 70s most of the women just looked pretty normal. We really need a revolt of some kind.

  1. “It promotes negative body image to those who are not as skinny as the models above.”
    You are absolutely right. And what’s more, it promotes negative body image to anyone, be they the size of the models or not. I’m pretty skinny myself, but do you think I’ve got the boobs they have? No way! Do I have their abs? No! It’s not just people who are “bigger” than the models – anyone, at any size, can and are affected by media’s distorted marketing.

Leave a Reply

