How to be an ally if you are a person with privilege

Stop and ask yourself things like:

  • What does it mean to be white/heterosexual/male/cisgender/upper class (etc) in this situation?
  • Would I be listened to if I didn’t hold this privilege?
  • Is this an oppurtunity for everyone, or is this an oppurtunity ONLY given to me for any reason?
  • Notice: How people of different abilities, people of color, LGBT people, non-cisgender people, middle-class and working class people, people of size, etc, are promoted, seen, treated, and talked about.
  • Am I stepping into a situation where someone is not being listened to because of their gender, identity, race, sexuality, etc. Am I making sure everyone is getting the same chance to express their opinions?
  • Am I interupting an offensive joke made towards a target group?

These are just a few things you can ask yourself to make sure you are actively being an ally to people who are different than you, and not abusing your power as a privilege group member.

To get more information on this topic, here are some great resources:

What do you think it means to be an ally? Comment below and let me know!

Photo from Google Images (:

2 thoughts on “How to be an ally if you are a person with privilege

  1. For me being an ally means standing behind people who are sharing their truth, particularly if it is a truth that comes from the margins. We all tend to unconsciously direct our attention to the people we have been raised to believe have more power. We unconsciously support power as we want to be aligned with it. By actively turning to those who are silenced and ignored, and not just doing it because “I want to be an allie”, but because I truly believe they hold truths that simply must be shared, truths that will help me…I am an ally. I believe there is so much truth that tha world needs so desperately and it is being stored in the bodies of people we push to the margins. We store our weakness and fear in marginalized groups. For me being an ally has been made more simple as I don’t feel I am doing someone without privilege a favor by supporting them….rather I feel they are doing me a favor by allowing me entry into their world.

Leave a Reply

