Thinspiration Vs Fatspiration

What is thinspiration/fatspiration? Well, thinspiration refers to the promotion of eating disorders and leading an unhealthy life in the hope of losing weight. There are many websites, such as tumblr, which have “thinspiration” pages, encouraging girls to lose weight. In my opinion, it is beyond gross and horrible. Thinspiration has images like these to “encourage” girls to lose weight:

These images are from: http://alleinbesitz.tumblr.com/post/7793767322 and http://www.tumblr.com/tagged/thinspiration

In my opinion, thinspiration buys into socially constructed ideas of beauty, unattainable beauty standards, eating disorders, and low- self esteem. How could that make anyone feel good about themselves? Isn’t there anything better to do than sit around worrying about calories and exercise?

Now lets talk about Fatspiration. Fatspiration is a body acceptance/fat acceptance blog. It is meant to show people that they can be beautiful at any size! It shows images such as :

The way I see it, fatspiration is meant to give confidence and self-worth to people that are not unrealistically skinny. But heres the big question:

Is Fatspiration just as unhealthy as Thinspiration?

Some people say that fatspiration promotes leading an unhealthy lifestyle. It encourages people to eat whatever they want and not care about exercise. Some believe that fatspiration is JUST as unhealthy as thinspiration. In my opinion, fatspiration isn’t MEANT to promote living unhealthily, it is meant to help people accept their bodies no matter what their size is. What do you think about it? What are your views on thinspiration and fatspiration? I’d love to hear what you have to say! Comment below or e-mail me and let me know what you think! Thanks (:

18 thoughts on “Thinspiration Vs Fatspiration

  1. Yeah, that’s a tough one :/ I always wonder about too. I think body acceptance is very important though, because with “Thinspiration” it seems like every woman just ends up hating herself, because it perpetuates this sense of failure. I do think that people should try to eat nutritional food and exercise, but not to “achieve” some sort of ideal. When we start loving ourselves and feeling happy and sleeping enough, we want to eat well and workout to stay healthy and be our best.

    • I agree with you, thats totally true. I think fatspiration could stress nutritional eating and exercise a little bit more, but i think fatspiration is better than thinspiration, because thinspiration is for self-hate, and fatspiration is for self-acceptance

  2. Do you mind if I use a quote from a few of your posts for as long as I provide credit and origins back to your website? My web page is in the very same area of interest as the one you have and my site visitors would definitely take benefit from some of the information you present on this page. Please let me know if it fine for you. Thanks for your time!

Leave a Reply

